10 Bean Soup

After spending a week away from home and enjoying eating out a little too much, it’s always nice to settle back into the routine and eating homemade meals again. I’ve always loved going to the grocery store and now that Sienna is a little bit older and more aware of her surroundings it’s a fun little outing for us. I remember when she was only a couple of weeks old and I was dreading going to the store… How much time do I have in between feedings? What if she starts melting down while I’m debating if I should get gala or granny smith apples? #firsttimemommyproblems.

I love Sprouts because I can buy bulk. All of our homemade meals tend to be vegan so we always have a lot of beans at hand. I bumped into this 10 bean soup mix in the bulk section the other day and since the weather is back to being a little chilly at night I thought – heck, I’m making another soup. I promise that once we hit warmer days, I will be posting more salad and “hot weather” recipes.

This soup turned out delicious – husband approved! I did add some cooked quinoa that I already had in the fridge to John’s bowl. I wanted to make sure the soup worked as a full meal for him so that seemed to do the trick. Also, I left the seeds in the jalapeño for more of a spicy soup. If you are looking for a milder flavor, make sure you deseed the bad boy first.

IMG_1015

10 Bean Soup – Yields About 4 Cups – Vegan – Gluten Free

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of 10 bean mix (found it at Sprouts)
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes
  • 3 cups of vegetable broth
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 large zucchini – diced
  • 1 jalapeño – minced
  • 2 garlic cloves – minced
  • 1 large carrot – diced
  • 1/2 medium onion – minced
  • 1.5 teaspoons of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cumin
  • avocado for garnish

Directions:

Rinse and soak the bean mix overnight.

In a large pot, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add the onions, garlic and jalapeño an cook for about 5 minutes, until the onion is translucent.

Add the carrots, salt, pepper and cumin and continue cooking for another 3 to 5 minutes. Stir so that the vegetables don’t burn and cook evenly.

Add the tomatoes (with the juice), vegetable broth and bean mix. Bring to a boil and then bring the heat down to a simmer.

Allow beans to cook for about 1 hour then add the zucchini. Stir occasionally and continue to cook for another 30 – 40 minutes, until the beans are tender. If the broth is reduced too much, you can always add another half a cup.

Serve in bowls and garnish with avocado cubes.

Buen Provecho!

Leave a Reply

